ipl 2021

BCCI to Host IPL 2021 in India

Spread the love

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will be hosting the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League in India and has set aside five stadiums for the tournament. As per the report given by the Times of India, the much-anticipated tournament will begin in the second week of April and end in the first week of June.
The Board allocated five stadiums to the league: Brabourne Stadium, Wankhede Stadium, DY Patil Stadium, and Navi Mumbai’s Reliance Cricket Stadium, along with the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium on the outskirts of Pune, the newspaper said.
The Motera stadium will be used for the tournament’s knock-out games starting in the last week of May.
The tournament will take place after the test, ODI, and T20 series between India and England, starting in the first week of February. The development comes days after the Board voted against hosting this year’s Ranji Trophy.
The 13th edition of the IPL was held in the United Arab Emirates from 19 September to 10 November last year, after the coronavirus pandemic outbreak.
After nearly six months, the tournament marked the return of Indian players to international cricket. The Mumbai Indians won the match for a record-extending fifth time.
The Board will organize a player auction for the upcoming IPL edition on 18 April in Tamil Nadu, Chennai. India will have already hosted two test matches against England and the series’s smooth conduct. Otherwise, it may become a final decision by the Board whether to conduct IPL in India or abroad. Coronavirus cases have declined dramatically in the world over the last few weeks. However, widespread vaccination has also begun in the country.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *